Equality and diversity

Equality and diversity includes nine protected characteristics:

  • Age
  • Faith, religion and belief
  • Disability
  • Gender
  • Gender reassignment
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Marriage and civil partnership
  • Race
  • Sexual orientation

As a Council we are committed to:

  • Eliminate discrimination and tackle prejudice
  • Advance equality of opportunity
  • Foster good relations and promote understanding
  • Meet the needs of people within the protected characteristics
  • Encourage participation in public life/activities

We pledge to meet both our specific and general duties in this Act.

The general equality duty is supported by specific duties which require us to publish data which is reviewed annually. We also have to publish one or more equality objective(s) every four years (from 6 April 2012).

 Equality objectives 2016 [PDF, 245KB]

 Our commitment to equality and diversity [PDF, 260KB]

 Equality and diversity policy [PDF, 733KB]

 Equality and diversity monitoring guidance and form [PDF, 81KB]

 Summary equality profile [PDF, 514KB]

 Workforce equality report 2018 [PDF, 358KB]