Consultation on school admission arrangements

This consultation has now closed

Consultation on school admission arrangements for the 2019 to 2020 academic year

The consultation on school admission arrangements for the 2019/2020 academic year will start on Monday 11 December 2017.

Admission authorities must set (determine) admission arrangements annually. Where changes are proposed to admission arrangements, the admission authority must first publicly consult on those arrangements. If no changes are made to admission arrangements, they must be consulted on at least every seven years. Consultation must be for a minimum of six weeks and must take place between 1 October and 31 January of the year before those arrangements are to apply. For example, for arrangements which are to apply to applications in 2018 (entry in September 2019), consultation must be completed by 31 January 2018. This consultation period allows parents, other schools, religious authorities and the local community to raise any concerns about proposed admission arrangements.

We're consulting all stakeholders on the proposed admission arrangements for admission arrangements for 2019/2020. Amongst others, we will be consulting with:

  • All maintained schools in Plymouth
  • Pre-schools in Plymouth
  • Parents
  • Local community groups
  • Neighbouring local authorities
  • Schools in neighbouring areas
  • Church of England (CE) and Roman Catholic (RC) Diocesan Directors of Education
  • City Councillors and Members of Parliament
  • Trade unions
  • Relevant Trusts and Associations

The consultation is based on the Department for Education (DfE) School Admissions Code. Current admission arrangements for Plymouth maintained schools are published in the:

The admission arrangements within this consultation have been based on the School Admissions Code 2014 and the School Admission Appeals Code 2012.


We are consulting on the coordinated admission scheme arrangements for the 2019 to 2020 academic year during this current consultation process. We are also consulting on the admission arrangements for 2019 to 2020 for all community and voluntary controlled nursery, primary, junior and secondary schools:

  • Primary: Compton Church of England Primary School, Ford Primary School, High View Primary School, Hyde Park Infant School, Knowle Primary School, Laira Green Primary School, Lipson Vale Primary School, Mary Dean's Church of England Primary School, Pennycross Primary School, Shakespeare Primary School, Tor Bridge Primary School, Victoria Road Primary School and Yealmpstone Farm Primary School
  • Junior: Hyde Park Junior School
  • Secondary: Plymouth High School for Girls

and on behalf of the following own admission authority schools:

  • All through: Plymouth School of Creative Arts
  • Primary: Austin Farm Primary Academy, Beechwood Primary Academy, Boringdon Primary School, Chaddlewood Primary School, College Road Primary School, Drake Primary Academy, Dunstone Primary School, Eggbuckland Vale Primary School, Elburton Primary School, Ernesettle Community School, Glen Park Primary School, Goosewell Primary Academy, High Street Primary Academy, Holy Cross Catholic Primary School, Hooe Primary Academy, Keyham Barton Catholic Primary School, Leigham Primary School, Manadon Vale Primary School, Marine Academy Primary School, Marlborough Primary Academy, Mayflower Community Academy and Nursery School, Montpelier Primary School, Morice Town Primary Academy, Mount Street Primary School, Mount Wise Community Primary School, Oakwood Primary Academy, Pilgrim Primary Academy, Plaistow Hill Infant and Nursery School,  Plympton St Mary's Church of England Infant School, Plympton St Maurice Primary School, Pomphlett Primary School, Prince Rock Primary School, Riverside Community Primary School, St Andrew's C of E Primary School, St Joseph's Catholic Primary School,  St Paul's Catholic Primary School, St Peter's CE Primary School, St Peter's Roman Catholic Primary School, Salisbury Road Primary School, Sparkwell All Saints Primary School (which is situated in Sparkwell, Devon), Stoke Damerel Primary School, Stuart Road Primary School, The Cathedral School St Mary, Thornbury Primary School, Weston Mill Community Primary Academy, Whitleigh Community Primary School, Widewell Primary Academy, Widey Court Primary School, Woodfield Primary School and Woodford Primary School 
  • Junior: St Budeaux Foundation Church of England Junior School
  • Secondary: All Saints CE Academy Plymouth, Coombe Dean School, Devonport High School for Boys, Devonport High School for Girls, Eggbuckland Community College, Hele's School, Lipson Co-operative Academy, Marine Academy Plymouth, Plympton Academy, Plymstock School, Sir John Hunt Community Sports College, Stoke Damerel Community College and Tor Bridge High
  • Key Stage 4: Scott Medical and Healthcare College

The schools below are not consulting on their admission arrangements for 2019 to 2020. This means that they will stay the same as the arrangements agreed for 2018 to 2019:

Secondary schools

  • Notre Dame RC School
  • St Boniface's Catholic College

Key stage 4 schools

  • Studio School Plymouth
  • UTC Plymouth

The following own admission authority schools aren't taking part in the consultation hosted by Plymouth local authority but may still be consulting on their admission arrangements:

  • Old Priory Junior Academy
  • Oreston Community Academy
  • St Edward's CE Primary School
  • St George's CE Primary School
  • St Matthew's CE Primary and Nursery Academy

Please refer to the schools own website for more information.

The published admission numbers (PANs) for schools within this consultation will remain the same in 2019 to 2020 as they were for 2018 to 2019 with the exception of the following schools.


School 2018/2019 PAN 2019/2020 PAN
Oakwood Primary Academy 45 60
Plymstock School



Download Planned admission numbers for Plymouth schools 2019 to 2020 [PDF, 167KB]

Comment on a school admission arrangement

You can also send your comments in writing to School Admissions Consultation, Education, Participation and Skills, Plymouth City Council, Windsor House, Tavistock Road, Plymouth PL6 5UF or by email to the School Admissions Team Your comments must be received by Sunday 21 January 2018 as the consultation will close on this date.

Having taken into account any responses to the consultation, admission authorities must set their arrangements by 28 February 2018 and then, within 14 days, notify those they consulted of the new arrangements. In setting their admission arrangements, authorities must 'act in accordance with the School Admissions and Appeals Codes (Education and Inspections Act 2006). Once set, objections to arrangements can be made to the Office of the Schools Adjudicator.

Once the admission arrangements have been formally determined, objections to the admission arrangements can be made to the Schools Adjudicator who will consider whether the arrangements do not or may not comply with the mandatory requirements of this Code or the law. Objections should be submitted by 15 May 2018.

Information about making an objection is available from the Office of the Schools Adjudicator. Once arrangements have been made, they will be published on our agreed admission arrangements page.