General election 2017

There will be a UK Parliamentary General Election on Thursday 8 June 2017.

Parliamentary constituencies

Plymouth is divided into three parliamentary constituencies:

  • Plymouth, Moor View
  • Plymouth, Sutton and Devonport
  • South West Devon

Visit the Ordnance Survey website for a detailed map (you will need to tick the 'Westminster Constituencies' box within the boundary tab on the left panel) or download the document below:

 Parliamentary constituencies [PDF, 2MB]

The South West Devon constituency includes some wards that fall within Plymouth and some that fall within the South Hams area. However, Plymouth City Council will verify and count all of the votes.


Polling hours are from 7am to 10pm on Thursday 8 June 2017. Details of your polling station and method of voting is printed on your poll card.

If you're already registered at your current address, you don't need to re-register. If you've recently moved, or need to register, you can do this on GOV.UK.

  • The deadline to register to vote is midnight on Monday 22 May 2017
  • The deadline for receiving new postal votes (including postal proxy) and for changes to existing postal or proxy votes is by 5 pm on Tuesday 23 May 2017  

There were no local elections for Plymouth City Council this year.

Further information and notices for this Election will be published in due course.

The Electoral Commission provides information about registering to vote and voting at elections.