Skip to main content

Parliamentary constituency boundary review

What the review is

The Boundary Commission for England (BCE) is reviewing all Parliamentary constituency boundaries in England.

The number of parliamentary seats in England is increasing from 533 to 543. The review will decide how to divide these seats between England's parliamentary constituencies. This means that some constituencies will be redrawn or renamed.

The BCE has published its initial proposals, and must report its final recommendations to Parliament by 1 July 2023. To see the proposals for your area, visit the BCE consultation portal and type in your postcode.

The BCE's proposals for the South West region

  • The South West region is increasing from 55 to 58 parliamentary constituencies.
  • The number of constituencies in Plymouth will remain the same.
  • Dividing the Peverell ward between the Plymouth Sutton and Devonport, and Plymouth Moor View constituencies

Find out more