Abercrombie Awards

The 2021 Awards

We are delighted to announce the return of the Abercrombie awards. Every three years Plymouth City Council hosts the awards to celebrate the role of groups, architects, designers and building companies in shaping the city.

The awards, which are named after the architect responsible for the plan to rebuild Plymouth after the Blitz, takes a look at a huge range of work from small conversions and projects to transform open spaces to multi-million pound housing or business projects.

The 2021 awards have seen 25 per cent more applicants than the 2017 awards and now we ask the public to again vote on their favourite shortlisted project through a special category – 'The People of Plymouth Award'.

Voting is open until the 8 November 2021 at 12pm and the winner will be announced on the 12 November 2021.

Vote for your favourite project

The categories

Best Response to the Climate Emergency

An innovative project that can demonstrate significant reduction in carbon emissions.

Best Conversion or Conservation Project

A project which finds new uses for historic buildings.

Best Smaller Development

A smaller development project that demonstrates design excellence.

Best Public Space

A project that demonstrates the importance of high quality design for spaces open to the public.

Best Community Project

A project led by the community.

Best Natural Infrastructure Project

A project or initiative that creates new or improves existing blue or green space.

Best Commercial Project

A project that delivers design excellence for commercial use.

Best New Housing Development

A scheme that delivers design excellence and meets the needs of local people.

Best New Building

In recognition of any building which exhibits the highest standards of design excellence.

People of Plymouth Award

This award is voted for by the people of Plymouth from all of the projects shortlisted.

Judges Special Award

In recognition of a planning project, initiative or programme that has contributed most to Plymouth.

The Abercrombie Award

The overall winner, the Abercrombie Award is chosen by the judges.