Background to the consultation on school admission arrangements for the 2023/2024 academic year

The legal basis for the consultation

The consultation on school admission arrangements for the 2023/2024 academic year will start on Monday 6 December 2021.

Admission authorities must set (determine) admission arrangements annually. Where changes are proposed to admission arrangements, the admission authority must first publicly consult on those arrangements. If no changes are made to admission arrangements, they must be consulted on at least every seven years. Consultation must be for a minimum of six weeks and must take place between 1 October and 31 January of the year before those arrangements are to apply. For example, for arrangements which are to apply to applications in 2022 (entry in September 2023), consultation must be completed by 31 January 2022. This consultation period allows parents, other schools, religious authorities and the local community to raise any concerns about proposed admission arrangements.

We're consulting all stakeholders on the proposed admission arrangements for admission arrangements for 2023/2024. Amongst others, we will be consulting with:

  • All maintained schools in Plymouth
  • Pre-schools in Plymouth
  • Parents
  • Local community groups
  • Neighbouring local authorities
  • Schools in neighbouring areas
  • Church of England (CE) and Roman Catholic (RC) Diocesan Directors of Education
  • City Councillors and Members of Parliament
  • Trade unions
  • Relevant Trusts and Associations

The consultation is based on the Department for Education (DfE) School Admissions Code. Current admission arrangements for Plymouth maintained schools are published on the website at: Agreed Admission Arrangements


The admission arrangements within this consultation have been based on the School Admissions Code 2021 and the School Admission Appeals Code 2012.


What is included in the consultation?

We are consulting on the coordinated admission scheme arrangements for the 2023/2024 academic year during this current consultation process. We are also consulting on the admission arrangements for 2023/2024 for all community schools along with voluntary controlled nurseries:

  • Primary: Compton Church of England Primary School, High View Primary School, Laira Green Primary School, Lipson Vale Primary School, Mary Dean's Church of England Primary School, Pennycross Primary School and Yealmpstone Farm Primary School

and on behalf of the following own admission authority schools:

  • Primary: Austin Farm Academy, Beechwood Primary Academy, Boringdon Primary School, Chaddlewood Primary School, College Road Primary School, Drake Primary Academy, Eggbuckland Vale Primary School, Elburton Primary School, Ernesettle Community School, Ford Primary School, Glen Park Primary School, Goosewell, Primary Academy, High Street Primary Academy, Hooe Primary Academy, Hyde Park Infant School, Knowle Primary School, Leigham Primary School, Manadon Vale Primary School, Marine Academy Primary School, Marlborough Primary Academy, Mayflower Primary Academy, Montpelier Primary School. Morice Town Primary School, Morley Meadow Primary School, Mount Street Primary School, Mount Wise Community Primary School, Oakwood, Primary Academy, Oreston Community Academy, Pilgrim Primary Academy, Plaistow Hill Infant and Nursery School, Plympton St Maurice Primary School, Pomphlett Primary School, Riverside Primary School, St Andrew's CE Primary School, Salisbury Road Primary School, Shakespeare Primary School, Stoke Damerel Primary School, Stuart Road Primary School, Thornbury Primary School, Tor Bridge Primary School, Victoria Road Primary School, Weston Mill Community Primary Academy, Whitleigh Primary School, Widewell Primary School, Widey Court Primary School, Woodfield Primary School, Woodford Primary School. 
  • Junior: Hyde Park Junior School, St Budeaux Foundation Church of England Junior School
  • Secondary: Coombe Dean School, Devonport High School for Girls, Eggbuckland Community College, Hele's School, Marine Academy Plymouth, Plymouth High School for Girls, Plympton Academy, Plymstock School, Sir John Hunt Community Sports College, Stoke Damerel Community College, Tor Bridge High, UTC Plymouth
  • All through School: Millbay Academy
  • Key Stage 4: Scott Medical and Healthcare College


Plymouth schools not included in this consultation

The following own admission authority schools aren't taking part in the consultation hosted by Plymouth local authority but may still be consulting on their admission arrangements. Please refer to the individual schools website for further details:

  • Secondary: Devonport High School for Boys, Notre Dame RD School, St Boniface's Roman Catholic College, Lipson Co-operative Academy
  • Primary: Holy Cross Catholic Primary School, Keyham Barton Catholic Primary School, Plympton St Mary's CE Infant School, St Edward's CE Primary School, St George's Primary Academy, St Joseph's Catholic Primary School, St Matthew's CE Primary and Nursery Academy, St Paul's Catholic Primary School, St Peter's CE Primary School, St Peter's RC Primary School, The Cathedral School of St Mary's
  • Junior: Old Priory Junior School



What happens after the consultation ends?

Having taken into account any responses to the consultation, admission authorities must set their arrangements by 28 February 2022 and then, within 14 days, notify those they consulted of the new arrangements. In setting their admission arrangements, authorities must 'act in accordance with the School Admissions and Appeals Codes (Education and Inspections Act 2006). Once set, objections to arrangements can be made to the Office of the Schools Adjudicator.

Once the admission arrangements have been formally determined, objections to the admission arrangements can be made to the Schools Adjudicator who will consider whether the arrangements do not or may not comply with the mandatory requirements of this Code or the law. Objections should be submitted by 15 May 2022.

Information about making an objection is available from the Office of the Schools Adjudicator. Once arrangements have been made, they will be published on our agreed admission arrangements page.